Skip to Content Find it Fast

This browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets.

UNH Home | EOS Home | Login  
UNH Faculty Named Fellows of International Scientific Society
DURHAM N.H. -- One spends his time drilling for ice cores in cold, windswept locales, while the other looks skyward, trying to unlock the mysteries of the Sun.

University of New Hampshire faculty members Paul Mayewski and Martin Lee have been named fellows of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), an international scientific society with more than 35,000 members in over 115 countries.

Mayewski, professor of earth sciences and director of the UNH Climate Change Research Center, and Lee, professor of space plasma physics/astrophysics, are one of only 600 AGU members elected fellows, an honor recognizing significant contributions to the field of geophysical sciences.

Both work within the university's Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space.

As director of Climate Change Research Center, Mayewski has led more than 25 expeditions to the Antarctic, the Arctic and the Himalayas. His early research in the Antarctic was honored by the naming of an Antarctic mountain, Mayewski Peak. His expeditions to the Arctic as chief scientist of the Greenland Ice Sheet Project Two resulted, from 1987 to 1993, in the recovery of a 110,000 year long record of climate change that is now recognized as perhaps the most important information thus far gathered in the understanding of climate change.

He also is a fellow in the Explorers Club and in 1995 received its second highest exploration award.

He currently is organizing a multidisciplinary research effort dedicated to understanding climate change in the Himalayas and several expeditions to the Antarctic, including the International Transantarctic Scientific Expedition.

"It is indeed an honor to be recognized by the AGU," says Mayewski, "but as any of us who are involved in such scientific activities realize, we are largely representatives for the extremely hard work of many others. I am very fortunate to be surrounded by an amazing group of colleagues here at UNH."

Lee's research interests are theoretical space physics, astrophysics and plasma physics. Working within the Solar-Terrestrial Theory Group -- founded in 1980 as one of 15 special research groups in the U.S. supported primarily by NASA and devoted to studying space plasma processes in the solar system -- Lee's specialty is the behavior of energetic ions throughout the heliosphere, a cavity extending beyond the planets created by the solar wind.

"I am truly honored and surprised to be elected to fellowship in the AGU," says Lee. "Being so valued by colleagues in an organization to which I have devoted much of my scientific career is a wonderful feeling. I am also very pleased that EOS and UNH are home to two of the 36 AGU Fellows elected worldwide in 1998."

Another UNH faculty member, Roger Arnoldy, director of the Space Science Center, was named an AGU fellow in 1996.

The American Geophysical Union, a non-profit organization, was established in 1919 by the National Research Council and for more than 50 years operated as an unincorporated affiliate of the National Academy of Sciences. In 1972, AGU was incorporated in the District of Columbia, and membership was opened to scientists and students worldwide. For more than 75 years, AGU researchers, teachers and science administrators have dedicated themselves to advancing the understanding of Earth and its environment in space and making the results available to the public.

Contact: Carmelle Druchniak, 603-862-1462

Additional information available at: